User menu:
  Forgot password?

History and Scope

About XTOP

The 11th Biennial Conference on High Resolution X-Ray Diffraction and Imaging (XTOP 2012), will take place 20 years after the first one, which took place in Marseille, initiated and (co)organised by Jose Baruchel.

The first XTOP conference was called the European Symposium (European Conference) on X-Ray Topography and High Resolution Diffraction. For the 4th one (1998) the title was changed to High Resolution X-Ray Diffraction and Topography, with the 6th conference first adopting the present title. The scope of the first few conferences concentrated mainly on topography, double- and triple-crystal diffractometry of epitaxial layers, reflectometry and standing waves technique, with other added at later meetings. Topics for XTOP2012 hold to the traditions of all the previous conferences.

XTOP brings together scientists from the fields of X-ray diffractometry, reflectometry, standing waves, coherent and conventional X-ray diffraction imaging and topography, as well as Xray phase contrast imaging (radiography and microtomography). XTOP is thus one of the central scientific platforms concerning methods and instrumentation in synchrotron – based highresolution X-ray diffraction methods, phase contrast imaging, and microtomography.

The conference will be organised in sections with key lectures given by a selected number of invited speakers on relevant topics of current scientific and technological interest. The conference programme will contain both oral and poster sessions.

Following the tradition of XTOP conferences, a Tutorial day will preceed the main meeting (on September 15th). It will be organized together with the International School/Conference of young scientists called “Modern Methods of Analysis of Diffraction Data”.

The official language of the conference will be English.

Previous XTOP Conferences

  • 1992: Marseille (FRA)
  • 1994: Berlin (GER)
  • 1996: Erice (ITA)
  • 1998: Durham (UK)
  • 2000: Ustron-Jaszowiec (Poland)
  • 2002: Aussois (FRA)
  • 2004: Prague (CZE)
  • 2006: Baden-Baden (GER)
  • 2008: Linz (AUT)
  • 2010: Warwick (UK)